

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda – September 3, 2019 Student Commons, Commonwealth Ballroom A-B, 4:00 – 6:00 PM

For complete minutes and related files, see: http://www.facultysenate.vcu.edu/
Please email ecarpenter2@vcu.edu with questions or corrections.

Pre-meeting Orientation: 3:00-3:45 (3:00-3:15 Meet and Greet; 3:15-3:45 Orientation)
Orientation for New Senators and Alternate Senators – Nancy Jallo, Valerie Robnolt, Scott Street

Procedural Items:

Call to order & Introductions (5 minutes)

Nancy Jallo, President

Minutes from April, 2019 meeting (5 minutes)

Everett Carpenter, Recording Secretary

University Grievance Annual Report (10 minutes)

Introduction and Vote 2019 University Grievance Panel Chair

Marilyn Miller, University Grievance Panel Chair

Guests:

Provost Office Report — provost.vcu.edu (10 minutes)

Gypsy Denzine, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Research Initiatives (30 minutes)

P. Srirama Rao, PhD

Vice President for Research & Innovation Professor of Microbiology & Immunology

Access to Journals (15 minutes)

John E. Ulmschneider

Dean of Libraries and University Librarian

Text Adoption and Sales Policy (10 minutes)

Andrew T. Arroyo, Ed.D

Director for Academic Programs and Policy

Office of the Provost and Senior Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Hillary Miller

Scholarly Communications Librarian, VCU Libraries

Bernard Hamm

VCU Registrar

Faculty Senate Items:

Faculty Senate President's Report

(5 minutes)

Nancy Jallo, President Faculty Senate

- a. Representing Faculty Senate
 - 1. REAL Council welcome from FS
 - 2. VCU Strategic Research Priorities Planning (SRPP) committee
 - 3. Search Committee Dean College of Humanities and Science
- b. Faculty Senate Symposium
 - 1. October 18, 2019; Student Commons Commonwealth Ballrooms; 9-4p,
 - 2. Strategies for Faculty Success

2019-2020 Faculty Senate Representatives to University Council (5 minutes)

Nancy Jallo, President

- 1. Nancy Jallo (Faculty Senate President)
- 2. Valerie Robnolt (Faculty Senate Vice-President)
- 3. Scott Street (Faculty Senate Past-President)
- 4. Everett Carpenter
- * Alternate: Patricia Cummins

Faculty Senate Committees

(20 minutes)

Adjournment